Skip to main content
School Space & Collaboration

How to move content from the school space to your personal space?

If you stop being associated with a school, due to a change of institution, end of contract, or any other reason, you may want to keep a copy of the content you created in the school space in your personal space. This article explains how to do this while you still have access to the school account.

Important: make this transfer as soon as possible, while you still have active institutional access.

Step by step

  1. Access the school account - log in with your institutional email.

  2. Create a personal space linked to that account - in the school account settings, create a linked personal space > Save changes.

  3. Create a group in that personal space

    1. Access the personal space you just created.

    2. Go to Groups in the side menu.

    3. Click "Create Group".

    4. Give the group a name (for example, "Content migration").

    5. Click "Create".

  4. Send the content from the school space to that group - from the school space, share to that group all the content you want to transfer (exercises, assessments, rubrics, etc.). How to send content to a group

  5. Access the group from the personal space - once the content has been shared, in the personal space you'll find everything that was placed there from the school account.

What to do with your personal space after losing access to the school

Even if the school later removes your access to the institutional account, you will still be able to access the personal space linked to that email. From here, you have two options:

  • Change the email linked to that personal space to your usual email, in the account settings, so you can access that space with the email you use day to day.

  • Keep the two accounts separate and simply add your personal email as a member of the group you created, this way, you can access the shared content from your existing personal account, without changing the email linked to the institutional account's space.

Frequently asked questions

What if the school deactivates my access before I finish this process? Without access to the school account, you will not be able to create the group or share new content from it. That is why we recommend making this transfer as soon as you know you will lose access, or requesting temporary access if this has already happened.

Will I still be able to access the content after the school deactivates my school account? Yes, once the content is in the group in your personal space, it remains accessible even if access to the school account is later removed.

What is the difference between changing the personal space's email and adding my personal email as a group member? Changing the email means that personal space will now be accessed with your usual email (you end up with a single space). Adding your email as a group member keeps the two accounts separate, but gives you access to the content shared from either one.